Soleil Sleep Spa Dawn Simulator Alarm Clock Review

title
A couple of weeks ago I mentioned that I received a Dawn Simulator Alarm Clock from Soleil Sleep Spa, and that I would be following up with a review as soon as I got a good feel for the alarm and how it works. Well guess what? This is that review! Wahoo!!
I became extremely interested in naturally resetting my circadian rhythms a couple of months ago, and from the research I did (and my early morning pre-sunrise sleep schedule) I concluded that a dawn simulator would be an invaluable tool to help me regulate my sleep and improve my overall health.
So I contacted Soleil Sleep Spa asking for the privilege of reviewing their Dawn Simulator Alarm Clock, and they were awesome enough to oblige and provide me a sample to review and share with you all!

More About Soleil Sleep Spa

The Soleil Sleep Spa Dawn Simulator Alarm Clock features NASA inspired nature sound and light therapy sleep technology. The alarm clock uses custom LED light color to simulate a natural sunset or sunrise, gradually increasing and decreasing in brightness.
When using the sunset feature, the lowering light signals your body to produce melatonin, the hormone that brings on sleep.
When using the sunrise feature, the gradually increasing light signals your body to produce serotonin, the hormone that brings on wakefulness, and aids in feelings of calmness and relaxation.
To learn more about the science of lights effect on sleep (and your circadian rhythm!) click here to read my article from a few weeks ago, “How to Reset Your Circadian Rhythms”.
In addition to the light features and sun simulation, the Soleil Sleep Spa Alarm Clock features pleasant natural sound alternatives to the classic adrenaline inducing BEEP BEEP BEEP of traditional alarm clocks. The alarm alternatives include Natural White Noise, Relaxation Brook and Rocky Ocean Shore – with the additional options of no alarm noise, songs from your MP3 player, and a mild beeping option for heavy sleepers.

DSC_3358

Additional Features of the Soleil Sleep Spa

In addition to the sunrise and sunset simulator, alarm clock functions and nature sound therapy, the Soleil Sleep Spa offers a few customized options that makes it stand apart from other Dawn Simulator Alarm Clocks.
For instance, the light features an optional LED clock display. The magic word is “optional”. Many dawn simulators do not give the option to dim or turn off the clock display. As a light sensitive sleeper, I love that I can turn the clock display off so it won’t interfere with sleep.
The alarm clock also features a USB charging station. This is way cooler than I thought it would be. Not only can I charge my smart phone in the evenings, I can hook up my MP3 player and use the Sleep Spa as a speaker!
You can also turn the light on and off, to varying degrees of brightness, to use as a bedside lamp or reading light.
The alarm clock is fairly easy to use. Because it features a minimalist design, there is a slight learning curve to setting the alarm clock preferences (think learning your iPhone’s limited buttons for the first time) but once you know how to use it, it’s fairly fool proof… even my 17 month old knows how to turn the light on and off!

DSC_3362

DSC_3365

My Experience With the Soleil Sleep Spa

So the tagline of Soleil Sleep Spa’s Dawn Simulator Alarm Clock is, “Sleep Better – Wake Up Easier”. So does it work?
The very first morning I used the alarm clock, I woke up naturally to the gradually increasing light a few minutes before the alarm noise went off. It was AWESOME! Worked like a charm.
The following morning, I went to bed very late, and only got about 5 to 6 hours of sleep. So I did not wake up to the gradually increasingly light, I woke up to the beeping alarm sound I had set. While I had to wake up from the noise, I noticed that I woke up feeling more alert than usual – especially considering my lack of sleep. Additionally, I woke to a gently illuminated room. For someone as light sensitive as me, it was great to not have that painful blinding reaction when turning the overhead light on.
Over the last few weeks my experience with the Soleil Sleep Spa has been a bit sporadic, due to my having a toddler whose superpower is waking me up long before my alarm is set to go off. But the mornings I DO wake to the Dawn Simulator, I notice I feel more alert, well rested and far less light sensitive when starting my day.
So I would say YES, it does work! I am looking forward to utilizing the alarm clock to it’s fullest one my kids let me, ya know, sleep through the night. 😉

DSC_3373

Discount for Domestic Geek Girl Readers!

Good news for those of you interested in purchasing a dawn simulator! The awesome folks at Soleil Sleep Spa have offered $30 discount to Domestic Geek Girl readers!
To purchase, just head over to the Soleil Sleep Spa website by CLICKING HERE and use the code DGeekGirl30 at check out, and you will receive the discount! This discount will be valid for 1 week only. (Offer ends 2/28/15)
[Disclaimer: There are no affiliate links in this review. I am an independent product reviewer. I only review products I am truly interested in. I don’t accept payment for reviews. The products I take the time to jabber on about are either items I have personally purchased, or the product has been provided for review after me incessantly nagging for a sample. All of my reviews are unbiased regardless of how the item was obtained.]

Have you tried a dawn simulator alarm clock? Interested in checking one out? Share below!

Gingi Freeman on sabfacebookGingi Freeman on sabinstagramGingi Freeman on sabpinterestGingi Freeman on sabtwitter
Gingi Freeman
Gingi Freeman
at
Gingi is a photographer, cosplayer, amateur chef, crazy cat lady, anime otaku, bookworm, generic geek, world traveler, conservative Christian, homeschooler, devoted military wife and stay at home new mother of two little girls.

Gingi blogs about anything and everything that is relevant to being a supermom, stay at home wife, homeschooler and geek girl! You can contact her at gingifreeman@gmail.com or via the contact form on her website at www.domesticgeekgirl.com

Gingi Freeman

Gingi is a photographer, cosplayer, amateur chef, crazy cat lady, anime otaku, bookworm, generic geek, world traveler, conservative Christian, homeschooler, devoted military wife and stay at home new mother of two little girls. Gingi blogs about anything and everything that is relevant to being a supermom, stay at home wife, homeschooler and geek girl! You can contact her at gingifreeman@gmail.com or via the contact form on her website at www.domesticgeekgirl.com

89 thoughts on “Soleil Sleep Spa Dawn Simulator Alarm Clock Review

    • 20 February, 2015 at 11:21 pm
      Permalink

      It really is! Thanks for stopping by! <3

    • 21 February, 2015 at 2:53 am
      Permalink

      I almost never wake up naturally, I am VERY groggy in the mornings.. so the improvement in my sleep so far is AWESOME!!

  • 21 February, 2015 at 12:37 am
    Permalink

    Hmm…such an interesting product. I never sleep well and my alarm goes off every morning at 5:00 – very obnoxious!!! I think that my boys would like it – might have to look into getting at leaf one.

    • 21 February, 2015 at 3:01 am
      Permalink

      You should check it out! My alarm is supposed to go off around 5 every morning, but it appears that Tessa prefers to go off 15 minutes earlier most mornings, lol!

  • 21 February, 2015 at 1:34 am
    Permalink

    This looks fantastic! Thanks for sharing!
    Melanie @ meandmr.com

    • 21 February, 2015 at 3:04 am
      Permalink

      Any time!! <3

  • 21 February, 2015 at 2:09 am
    Permalink

    I’ve never heard of an alarm clock like that, but it sounds like it would be great to have. The option of shutting off the clock is cool, as is the usb charger. Great review!

    • 21 February, 2015 at 3:05 am
      Permalink

      Thanks! It’s certainly the best clock I’ve ever owned!

    • 21 February, 2015 at 3:05 am
      Permalink

      You too!

    • 21 February, 2015 at 3:07 am
      Permalink

      The coupon is good all week! 😉

  • 21 February, 2015 at 4:25 am
    Permalink

    This sounds amazing and like something that I need. I am like you though, most mornings my almost 10 months old wakes us up before the alarm. LOL! Will definitely look into this, I honestly love the review!

    Shireen | Reflection of Sanity

    • 21 February, 2015 at 4:36 am
      Permalink

      Thanks! I am beginning to wonder if maybe the light is waking her up FIRST? lol! It would explain her waking before the alarm!

  • 21 February, 2015 at 9:45 am
    Permalink

    Thanks for such a great review! I had never heard of this product before, but it definitely sounds quite interesting.I think it could greatly help me, especially when I am traveling and experience jet lag! I will have to check it out!

    • 21 February, 2015 at 2:30 pm
      Permalink

      If you do, let me know!! I’d love to hear about your experience!

    • 21 February, 2015 at 2:32 pm
      Permalink

      <3

    • 21 February, 2015 at 2:33 pm
      Permalink

      Sure thing! I’ll go take a look now! 😉

  • 21 February, 2015 at 11:29 am
    Permalink

    That sounds very interesting. Maybe I should give this a try. My only concern is that I might sleep through it. Sometimes I need a really loud beeping noise to wake up. 🙂

    • 21 February, 2015 at 2:35 pm
      Permalink

      It has a beeping option for heavy sleepers! Then you can choose to change it up to nature sounds as an alarm, or no sound. ^_^

    • 21 February, 2015 at 2:36 pm
      Permalink

      I know, crazy, right?!

  • 21 February, 2015 at 3:36 pm
    Permalink

    Great review Gingi! Like I said before, I’m a believer. If this could wake my teenage son at 6:00 am, it can wake anyone. 😉

    • 23 February, 2015 at 12:22 am
      Permalink

      I am always FAR too wordy with my reviews, haha, so I’m glad you like! 😉

  • 21 February, 2015 at 5:46 pm
    Permalink

    This sounds like an amazing product! I could use something like this! I never wake up naturally and am startled by the alarm clock every morning. Thanks for sharing your review!

    Jill
    Doused In Pink

    • 23 February, 2015 at 12:28 am
      Permalink

      If you get around to trying it, do let me know what you think! <3

  • 21 February, 2015 at 8:31 pm
    Permalink

    It does sound interesting! It’s amazing how technology is evolving, even in the alarm clock!

    • 23 February, 2015 at 12:34 am
      Permalink

      Right?! I am happy to be in on something cutting edge for a change, haha! 😉

    • 23 February, 2015 at 12:37 am
      Permalink

      Thank YOU for stopping by my blog!! Glad you found the review helpful! <3

    • 23 February, 2015 at 12:40 am
      Permalink

      No prob! Thanks for stopping by! <3

  • 21 February, 2015 at 10:26 pm
    Permalink

    I’ve seen these around and I’ve always wanted to try one. I hate waking up to the drone of an alarm!

    Corinne x

    • 23 February, 2015 at 12:43 am
      Permalink

      You should!! I am so in love with this alarm clock!

  • 21 February, 2015 at 11:39 pm
    Permalink

    I love everything about this alarm clock! Thanks so much for showing this. I didn’t even know it existed. The alternatives to the beeping (ocean…) sound heavenly, and of course, the light is the best part. I’ll have to check it out.

    • 23 February, 2015 at 12:45 am
      Permalink

      I’m not a fan of nature sounds, so I am not really utilizing that portion of the clock.. but the light alone is worth the expense! You should check it out! <3

    • 23 February, 2015 at 12:50 am
      Permalink

      Yeah, I love how sleek and simplistic it is!!

    • 23 February, 2015 at 12:51 am
      Permalink

      What is Ace??

    • 23 February, 2015 at 12:53 am
      Permalink

      On my way to check it out now! 😉

    • 23 February, 2015 at 12:59 am
      Permalink

      Yeah, you should check it out! <3

  • 22 February, 2015 at 7:59 pm
    Permalink

    Sounds pretty interesting, Gingi. Although I don’t need an alarm clock, it sounds pretty tempting.
    xox
    Lenya
    FashionDreams&Lifestyle

    • 23 February, 2015 at 1:02 am
      Permalink

      You could always use it as a sunset simulator for enhanced sleep! hehe! 😉

    • 23 February, 2015 at 1:03 am
      Permalink

      Of course! <3

    • 23 February, 2015 at 1:06 am
      Permalink

      Thanks! <3 I always have trouble photographing bright things in dark light, and I wanted to capture the pretty glow of the clock, so I'm glad the photos came out nice!

  • 22 February, 2015 at 10:40 pm
    Permalink

    It’s really nice and useful for someone who has to get up before dawn!! Fortunately I don’t have to any more (one of the few privileges of older age 🙂

    Rosa
    Styleyourslfinstyle.blogspot.com

    • 23 February, 2015 at 1:08 am
      Permalink

      Hehe, you lucky duck! 😉

    • 23 February, 2015 at 1:10 am
      Permalink

      Thanks sweetie! I always fear I write too long of review type posts, haha.. glad you found it helpful!

    • 23 February, 2015 at 3:42 pm
      Permalink

      If you ever get a chance to, you should try it out! It’s really neat!

  • 23 February, 2015 at 10:02 am
    Permalink

    I’ve been using the Lumie light recently – which is very similar. It does make such a difference to me. I just HATE the feeling of being woken right in the middle of a deep sleep by an alarm. It’s awful! It’s so nice to find myself waking a few minutes before my alarm goes off.
    🙂 Hannah

    • 23 February, 2015 at 3:45 pm
      Permalink

      Ohhh, now I need to go look up the Lumie light.. what is that? I’m off to Google now, haha.. and yeah, I totally agree about waking to a blaring alarm clock.. that’s the WORST!

  • 23 February, 2015 at 10:52 am
    Permalink

    I really like the idea that the dawn simulator can be used in multiple ways such as a bedside lamp or USB charger! And this product does sound like a fantastic aid to regulate a healthier sleeping pattern too, awesome!

    Prudence
    http://www.prudencepetitestyle.wordpress.com

    • 23 February, 2015 at 3:48 pm
      Permalink

      It really is! I am very happy with it!

    • 23 February, 2015 at 3:58 pm
      Permalink

      I am NOT a morning person at all, so every little bit of help I can get, I love, haha.

  • 23 February, 2015 at 2:06 pm
    Permalink

    Well I’ve never tried it, but I think this might be the one good alarm clock for me. I’m also little bit light sensitive in the mornings and reading how it works I love everything in it (specially sunrise and sunset options).

    http://www.stripesnvibes.com

    • 23 February, 2015 at 4:03 pm
      Permalink

      You should def check it out then! It’s really nifty!!

    • 23 February, 2015 at 6:53 pm
      Permalink

      It is! Thanks for reading! <3

  • 23 February, 2015 at 7:36 pm
    Permalink

    I love this! Waking up naturally is so much better. If I am woken up by a loud alarm, I feel jumpy for the rest of the day.

    • 23 February, 2015 at 7:56 pm
      Permalink

      Same! I MUCH prefer waking up gently!

  • 23 February, 2015 at 7:42 pm
    Permalink

    Sounds like a great product…waking up naturally is definitely the way to go! Thanks for sharing this review!

    • 23 February, 2015 at 7:57 pm
      Permalink

      No prob! Thanks for stopping by! <3

  • 23 February, 2015 at 9:08 pm
    Permalink

    Wow, this is so interesting – I’ve heard about these clocks but never seen photos. Would be so helpful here in Canada… gets so dark and it’s hard to wake up!

    Erin | Erin and Katherine Talk Beauty

    • 23 February, 2015 at 9:15 pm
      Permalink

      Oh man, I’d imagine it would in Canada! If you ever do try one out, let me know what you think of it! ^_^

  • 23 February, 2015 at 9:41 pm
    Permalink

    What a cool idea! Let there be light!

    Ohh … please be sure to email me your address so I can get that bag in the mail to ya!

    Thanks, friend!

    • 23 February, 2015 at 9:42 pm
      Permalink

      Oh no! I thought I already did that!! I’ll go mail it again now.. please let me know if you get it!! <3

  • 23 February, 2015 at 10:23 pm
    Permalink

    Yes, I remember that post! Glad to see the review ( and the little one’s super cute rainbow shirt!)
    I’m not great at waking up so waking up naturally and easily is a life goal of mine!

    • 23 February, 2015 at 10:57 pm
      Permalink

      You should give this a try then! <3 <3

  • 23 February, 2015 at 11:09 pm
    Permalink

    I wake up easily – TOO easily! But, I know a few in my family that might be able to use this. I will pass your review on! Thanks!

    • 23 February, 2015 at 11:32 pm
      Permalink

      That would be awesome! Yeah, pass the review along!! <3 <3

  • 25 February, 2015 at 3:38 am
    Permalink

    I used to have something like this about 15 years ago. It was made by Remington I think and it was the BEST way to wake up… especially in the winter when it’s so dark outside. It broke after two years and I was devastated… I looked everywhere for a replacement but they didn’t make them anymore.

    If we weren’t on such a strict budget right now I would definitely purchase one of these. It’s so nice to wake up gradually… it’s more natural that an intense beep-beep-beep!

    Thanks so much for sharing.

    Wishing you a wonderful evening.
    xoxo

  • 25 February, 2015 at 7:32 pm
    Permalink

    After reading your review, sounds like I have to get one of those….I need it badly 😉

  • 25 February, 2015 at 9:16 pm
    Permalink

    I just sent my spa alarm clock back disappointed. I found it really difficult to use and it arrived with a scratch on the surface 🙁 I had to pay shipping and handling both ways so I lost $28, poor customer service. I wanted to support smaller companies but live and learn I guess.

    • 25 February, 2015 at 9:26 pm
      Permalink

      Oh no! Was it from Soleil Sleep Spa??

  • 7 March, 2015 at 3:16 pm
    Permalink

    I’ve heard great things about these alarm clocks and really want to get one. I am not a morning person and need all the help I can get 🙂

  • 15 March, 2016 at 9:10 pm
    Permalink

    Hi,

    Would you do me a super kind favor? I purchased a sleep spa alarm clock and there was a defect with the manufacturer with printing the buttons, they are like the buttons shown in your picture which do not match what is printed in the manual. Can you look at your clock and tell me if the buttons in the picture are of your actual clock? If they are not from your clock would you be so kind as to let me know the names of your buttons from left to right when facing the clock? thanks so much in advance!

  • 18 October, 2016 at 8:52 pm
    Permalink

    These are great devices. We don’t own the exact same model. But I do know that a dawn simulation alarm has turned my teenager from a neanderthal man to a member of the human race in the morning at breakfast.
    Jenny

Comments are closed.

HEY THERE! Are YOU a Domestic Geek?

Subscribe to Domestic Geek Girl's Weekly Newsletter and don't miss a post!! Receive weekly blog post summaries *** Be the first to know about giveaways *** Enjoy exclusive offers, discounts, specials and MORE!