Are Fake Plants Good Feng Shui?

Spring is here! This means moving in some new life, new energy and positive wood elements into the home with the changing of the seasons!

In feng shui philosophy, the spring season symbolizes new beginnings, growth, and expansion—like when the trees start to grow back their leaves. With the advent of springtime, feng shui principals advocate using plants, the colors green and blue, as well as columnar and expansive shapes to symbolize this type of energy.

Now, I don’t adhere 100% to the principles of feng shui, but when I hit an interior decorating roadblock, or just need a decorating pick me up, I turn to these age-old principles of interior design for inspiration. You really cannot go wrong with feng shui!

In feng shui, there is an overarching attempt to balance the Five Elements: Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal and Water. Each element symbolizes important parts of our lives — the Wood element is all about New Beginnings and Family: vitality, growth, deep roots, our DNA.

With spring right around the corner, many people will be incorporating plants into their interior design, with or without the guidance of feng shui principals.

And there is good reason! Green plants represent growth and new beginning and cultivate human kindness and compassion. They are related to the wood element and the area of New Beginnings on the feng shui bagua map.

But what about fake plants in the grand scheme of interior decorating with feng shui principals? Lets take a look at what some feng shui masters have to say on the issue!

Are Fake Plants Good Feng Shui?

Salvatore Manzi of http://www.salvatoremanzi.com says:

There is a big guilty expression on my clients’ faces generally when they ask me if it is ok to have fake plants and it pleases me to see the huge sigh of relief when I give my response, “use what is best for you!”

Yes! Real plants offer a beautiful energy all to themselves. They add chi and light and health to a space, but, if they are not kept up, or do not get the light, water, nutrients they need, they wither and die, and that death is a negative vortex of energy!

Fake plants may not have the same natural energetic properties to the space, but they do not add stress to someone who is not plant savvy, and they do provide a psychological impact of uplifting chi energy… which is what we want!

So if you are debating whether to get real or fake plants, choose what is right for your lifestyle and keep in mind that it is the intention they support in your life more than the actual energy they give off. If you do keep fake plants, I do advise wiping them down or washing them regularly… And replacing them when they begin to look tattered as some are want to do in homes with children or pets!

Enjoy your plants, real or fake, and let the chi shine on!!!

Anjie Cho of angiecho.com says:

While it is preferable to use living green plants for feng shui applications, my teachers have taught me that faux green plants are also acceptable. The faux green plants should be of high quality and as realistic as possible. It is fairly easy now to find good looking fake plants. I believe it is much better to have a realistic fake plant over a dying real one. There are often locations where a plant could improve the feng shui of a space, however the natural light is lacking. In this case, I think it is good feng shui to use a fake plant.

A fake plant is okay for low light locations or for seriously black thumbs. But, there is something to gain from the care and nurturing you give to a living green plant that makes your feng shui adjustment more effective.

The easiest way to anchor Wood is with healthy live plants, but if you have low light conditions or a “brown thumb,” silk flowers and plants are a good substitute. There are a lot of absolutely gorgeous silk arrangements out there, and I use them quite a bit in my own home.

Adding a Faux Bamboo Tree for Feng Shui Decor

I recently acquired a high quality five foot tall faux bamboo tree from Commercial Silk.

While this one item is just a small sampling of the high quality realism of artificial plants in this company, this particular piece features vibrant leaves and an ornate trunk, and is completely indiscernible from a live bamboo, except upon VERY close inspection. It lends an immediate air of tranquility to our bedroom, and requires minimal care.

Bamboo is a plant that is abundant in Asia and grows very quickly. It represents upright and honest growth, as well as flexibility and adaptability. Since the bamboo plant does not flower or fruit, it’s lifespan is long and simple. And because it is hollow, bamboo also symbolizes an empty heart of humbleness.

According to Anjie Cho on inhabitat.com:

I often suggest clients place bamboo stalks in the relationship area of their bedroom. To locate this area, stand at your bedroom door facing into the room. The far back corner to the right is the relationship area. This symbolizes a harmonious union between you and your current or future partner. The stalks represent a balanced and equal relationship that can grow together in accord.

If you’re looking for more abundance and prosperity, you can place your bamboo in the wealth area of your home, office, or bedroom—or better yet, in all three locations. To locate the wealth area of the feng shui map, stand in the entry door to the home or room. The far back corner on the left side represents wealth, prosperity and abundance. The bamboo will represent positive and steady growth.

One of the things I like about having an artificial bamboo tree, is that is looks utterly realistic when done well. And this one is done well! I am extremely pleased with the work I have been seeing from Commercial Silk International and would highly recommend!

[Disclaimer: There are no affiliate links in this review. I am an independent product reviewer. I only review products I am truly interested in. I don’t accept payment for reviews. The products I take the time to jabber on about are either items I have personally purchased, or the product has been provided for review after me initiating incessantly nagging for a sample. All of my reviews are unbiased regardless of how the item was obtained.]

More About Commercial Silk

From the Commercial Silk website (CLICK HERE to visit):

Setting the Standard for Authentic Artificial Plants

Commercial Silk International was founded in 1986 as a division of Plantscape Inc., a leading national interior landscaping firm based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Our goal has always been to produce the world’s finest, most authentic artificial trees and silk plants for commercial projects.

Our broad experience in the interior landscaping business has enabled us to build and install the most natural looking artificial plantscapes in the industry. Since we have all the disciplines in-house (design, manufacturing, and installation) we can control the final outcome of your project.

So whether you are looking for a single artificial office place or a complete design / build, Commercial Silk International should be your first choice.

Do you have artificial plants in your home? Interesting in adding some? Share below!

Gingi Freeman on FacebookGingi Freeman on InstagramGingi Freeman on PinterestGingi Freeman on Twitter
Gingi Freeman
Gingi Freeman
Gingi is a photographer, cosplayer, amateur chef, crazy cat lady, anime otaku, bookworm, generic geek, world traveler, conservative Christian, homeschooler, devoted military wife and stay at home new mother of two little girls.

Gingi blogs about anything and everything that is relevant to being a supermom, stay at home wife, homeschooler and geek girl! You can contact her at gingifreeman@gmail.com or via the contact form on her website at www.domesticgeekgirl.com

Gingi Freeman

Gingi is a photographer, cosplayer, amateur chef, crazy cat lady, anime otaku, bookworm, generic geek, world traveler, conservative Christian, homeschooler, devoted military wife and stay at home new mother of two little girls. Gingi blogs about anything and everything that is relevant to being a supermom, stay at home wife, homeschooler and geek girl! You can contact her at gingifreeman@gmail.com or via the contact form on her website at www.domesticgeekgirl.com

56 thoughts on “Are Fake Plants Good Feng Shui?

  • 24 January, 2017 at 7:19 am
    Permalink

    Thanks a lot 😀

    I’m totally addicted to decor posts and this content is amazing. Super complete as I like!

    NEW TIPS POST | Choose The Right Foundation for Your Skin Type.

    • 24 January, 2017 at 4:11 pm
      Permalink

      Yay! I am glad you like the post! I had fun trolling Feng Shui blogs to get the info to share! <3

  • 24 January, 2017 at 9:17 am
    Permalink

    That totally looks REAL! Cool. Not sure about the ‘mumbo jumbo’, but I do understand visual balance within spaces, and at the very least, using plants for the ‘art’ of it is a positive. I grew up with plants in our house and in Grandma Graham’s house, but I’ve got a ‘brown thumb’, so something like this would be a remedy to that ailment! 🙂

    • 24 January, 2017 at 4:12 pm
      Permalink

      I actually HATE fake plants that LOOK fake. They drive me a little batty. But once I started killing too many greens with kiddos in the house, I finally bought my first fake plant for the entryway.. and it looked so real that when we had someone house sitting on vacation he was actually WATERING the fake plants with the real ones!!! Thats when I had my lightbulb moment, haha!

  • 24 January, 2017 at 10:13 am
    Permalink

    I don’t have a green thumb at ALL so it’s either fake or nothing for me! And I don’t believe in feng shui anyway, so it really doesn’t matter for me.

    • 24 January, 2017 at 4:13 pm
      Permalink

      Feng shui or not, green plants versus brown are a plus tho, amirite? 😉

  • 24 January, 2017 at 12:07 pm
    Permalink

    I’m definitely planning on buying some cake plats to our new apartment. I’m to lazy to care for living plants.

    • 24 January, 2017 at 4:14 pm
      Permalink

      I like mixing a bit of living and fake, it helps them kind of mesh into the decor!

  • 24 January, 2017 at 2:56 pm
    Permalink

    I love bamboo and have a lot of bamboo furniture in my home. My favorite Is a bamboo bench/table that I got from China. In regards to fake plants, I think you should have them if they are visually pleasing to you. If it makes you happy that is balance in my opinion.
    LaToya
    http://www.toyastales.blogspot.com

    • 24 January, 2017 at 4:15 pm
      Permalink

      EXACTLY!!! That is worded so perfectly! And yes, I love bamboo too! We have a lot of bamboo and wicker furniture on our front patio, and I would have more in the house, if the cats didn’t get their claws into them as a scratching post (you can actually see cat claw damage in our wicker nightstand in the pictures above!!! lol)

  • 24 January, 2017 at 5:41 pm
    Permalink

    What a great idea. Looks so good.

    • 24 January, 2017 at 6:09 pm
      Permalink

      Bamboo is seriously one of my FAVORITE plants!!! <3

  • 24 January, 2017 at 6:02 pm
    Permalink

    Fun idea to ask if they are feng shui. Probably no energy flow but I think they lift the spirits.

    • 24 January, 2017 at 6:10 pm
      Permalink

      You can FEEL the difference in my rooms with greens.. I have rooms with all live plants, rooms with all fake plants, and room with a mixture… I think they all benefit equally with some green! <3

  • 24 January, 2017 at 6:12 pm
    Permalink

    I’m fine with fake plants when they look close to the real thing, but usually when people say fake plants, my first thought is those awfully plastic looking flowers some rattier food places decorate their tables with *shudder*

    • 24 January, 2017 at 6:25 pm
      Permalink

      Yeah, I am like this was fake flowers, because those are HARD to do right! I always think of thrift store finds that are crushed and yellowed and… ugh! Yuck! haha…

  • 24 January, 2017 at 6:49 pm
    Permalink

    This was such an interesting read because I’ve never heard of this concept or belief before! I grew up around real plants and flowers in the home all the time because my mom has a green thumb. She lives in an apartment with no where near the amount of life I get in mine, but she keeps all of her plants thriving and me, mine die within a month! Eddie and I have talked about getting some fake plants, but It think it’s just not the same 🙁 Though this post is on it being a great alternative, are there any plants that you know of that are fairly easily to keep up with that you can suggest? Thanks for sharing, beauty, and I hope you’re having a great start to your week so far!

    XO,

    Jalisa
    http://www.thestylecontour.com

    • 24 January, 2017 at 6:52 pm
      Permalink

      It is hard to go wrong with succulents if you are looking for real plants that are easy to keep… biggest danger there is OVERwatering! haha!

  • 24 January, 2017 at 6:54 pm
    Permalink

    I suddenly feel the need to go out and buy plants. Real ones, even though we just agreed that fake ones are okay…..when is payday again? 😉

  • 24 January, 2017 at 7:37 pm
    Permalink

    I think I need to encourage my mum to get an artificial bamboo plant! She had a real one in her garden but it grew so fast and eventually took over, even spreading into next doors garden which they weren’t best pleased about. I can now tell her that it is still good feng shui to have an artificial one and it will be easier for her to look after x

    • 25 January, 2017 at 3:14 am
      Permalink

      Ohhhh, sounds like she had an invasive variety… those are actually illegal here in my county! Which is a shame, because I totally want a forest in my back yard haha…

  • 25 January, 2017 at 12:08 am
    Permalink

    I can’t seem to keep real plants alive indoors no matter what I try. We really don’t have a lot of windows in our house, so maybe that is why. I don’t know! This plant is beautiful and I would have never guessed it was silk.

    Carrie
    curlycraftymom.com

    • 25 January, 2017 at 3:16 am
      Permalink

      It most likely is the lighting… when I kill plants it is usually from lack of adequate light, or overwatering!

  • 25 January, 2017 at 1:09 am
    Permalink

    Great post! I am into bot feng shui and gardening. While I would prefer to have my place filled with living plants, fake plants are easy to look after and pretty of course. I guess a balance of both is best 🙂

    • 25 January, 2017 at 3:17 am
      Permalink

      YES! My grandma does a mixture of both, in her FRONT yard, mixing fake plants with her real landscaping.. you would NEVER know! So I am adopting her style… only indoors! haha…

  • 25 January, 2017 at 1:13 am
    Permalink

    I prefer live to fake plants but I can’t always keep plants living so it’s good to have fake ones too, especially ones like that that look so real.

    • 25 January, 2017 at 3:18 am
      Permalink

      I prefer live as well, but I am SUPER happy with these high quality fake ones!

  • 25 January, 2017 at 1:49 am
    Permalink

    Good to know! Plants – fake or not – are always nice to look at!

    p.s. No, I don’t know anything by Anne McCaffrey. What do you recommend?

    • 25 January, 2017 at 3:19 am
      Permalink

      DRAGONFLIGHT!!! I am reading it right now… you need to check it out! I will pester you on your blog about it in a bit! <3

  • 25 January, 2017 at 1:54 am
    Permalink

    Good to know! I prefer real plants, but with two kitties, fake is the better option for me.

  • 25 January, 2017 at 3:47 am
    Permalink

    I need fake plants because I can’t keep live ones alive. A green thumb this girl does not have 🙁

    • 25 January, 2017 at 4:17 pm
      Permalink

      Aaaaaaand… she kills the fake plants! (haha, I kid, I kid!) 😉

  • 25 January, 2017 at 3:56 am
    Permalink

    I don’t have any fake plants. They feel like too much hard work. I dry indigenous flowers for my bathroom though.

    • 25 January, 2017 at 4:17 pm
      Permalink

      The bathroom is actually one of those rooms where I have a hard time keeping anything alive!!!

  • 25 January, 2017 at 8:11 am
    Permalink

    Such a good post Gingi! I’ve always wondered that (as I have trouble keeping plants alive).

  • 25 January, 2017 at 1:05 pm
    Permalink

    Great article! Fake plants, why not! I love them! 🙂

  • 25 January, 2017 at 2:13 pm
    Permalink

    I confess, I haven’t given much thought to fake plants before. But….something like a bamboo palm gets so big (the real thing, ya know) that I’d have trouble containing it in my house. So maybe with a fake plant I can keep it to size. Not to mention not having to water cause that sure ain’t my strength. hehe.

    • 25 January, 2017 at 4:19 pm
      Permalink

      That is too funny… Watering is my strength… too strong, because I usually kill my plants or stress them out from OVER watering! haha!

  • 26 January, 2017 at 1:24 am
    Permalink

    I have used fake plants before. It is nice to have live plants and a fake one or two makes it easier to maintain. Hahaha. I didn’t know you were a wedding photographer thats cool.

    Allie
    allienyc.com

    • 26 January, 2017 at 4:31 pm
      Permalink

      Hahaha, yeah, I do that on the side! It’s a fun job! <3

  • 26 January, 2017 at 9:11 pm
    Permalink

    I’m going to purchase a few fake plants… I want some good quality ones. I wish I could have a real ones but my kitty would eat them xox ♡

    • 27 January, 2017 at 5:57 pm
      Permalink

      Yeah, my cats eat about 1/3rd of our real ones. Only the lucky survive! lol

  • 27 January, 2017 at 3:58 am
    Permalink

    Great post, thanks! We do have a couple of fake bamboo trees that I adore in our house with fun lights in them. It’s tough to maintain real plants, but I do have a real bamboo plant on my desk at work so that balances it out, right? 🙂

    • 27 January, 2017 at 5:57 pm
      Permalink

      Hahahaha, I am sure it balances out.. the feng shui of feng shui? (Boy, this is getting confusing! haha)

  • 29 January, 2017 at 1:09 am
    Permalink

    I must admit to having a few fake plants and flowers. Real is nicer, but sometimes that just doesn’t work.

    • 30 January, 2017 at 1:56 am
      Permalink

      Hahaha, as long as no one can tell the difference, what does it matter, amirite?! <3

Comments are closed.


Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function ereg_replace() in /home2/gingifre/public_html/domesticgeekgirl.com/wp-content/plugins/alpine-photo-tile-for-instagram/gears/alpinebot-display.php:58 Stack trace: #0 /home2/gingifre/public_html/domesticgeekgirl.com/wp-content/plugins/alpine-photo-tile-for-instagram/gears/alpinebot-display.php(48): PhotoTileForInstagramBotSecondary->filter_filename('in-1-2-7-M-gynj...') #1 /home2/gingifre/public_html/domesticgeekgirl.com/wp-content/plugins/alpine-photo-tile-for-instagram/gears/alpinebot-display.php(501): PhotoTileForInstagramBotSecondary->key_maker(Array) #2 /home2/gingifre/public_html/domesticgeekgirl.com/wp-content/plugins/alpine-photo-tile-for-instagram/gears/alpinebot-primary.php(72): PhotoTileForInstagramBotTertiary->photo_retrieval() #3 /home2/gingifre/public_html/domesticgeekgirl.com/wp-content/plugins/alpine-photo-tile-for-instagram/gears/plugin-widget.php(35): PhotoTileForInstagramPrimary->do_alpine_method('photo_retrieval') #4 /home2/gingifre/public_html/dome in /home2/gingifre/public_html/domesticgeekgirl.com/wp-content/plugins/alpine-photo-tile-for-instagram/gears/alpinebot-display.php on line 58