Glass Bottles Are Best – Why Glass is Smarter, Safer and Tastier

dsc_7983title

If you are a regular on my blog, then you know that one of my favorite pastimes is shaking my fist at the sky and ranting and railing against evils of BPA its inexplicable prevalence in food storage containers, utensils and cooking tools.

I have covered avoiding BPA lined cans, and BPA cooking tools (from coffee machines to food dehydrators) but now we are gonna talk about home food storage – specifically glass bottles for milk and juice storage! But just to get everyone up to speed on the horrors of BPA… ahem…

Why BPA Is Pretty Much The Devil

I first learned about Bisphenol-A (BPA) when I was pregnant for the first time and shopping around for the best bottles for my daughter.
What triggered my curiosity and concern was the huge, bold printed assertions slapped on every other baby product that there is “NO BPA!!!” in the bottle / binky / teething toy / whatever.
BPA is basically a chemical found in hard plastics. BPA can also be found in epoxy resins which are used as coatings inside food cans and water bottles. Studies have shown that BPA leaches into foods while they are in contact with BPA – especially foods that are acidic, salty and fatty, (like coconut milk, tomatoes, soup, and vegetables).
BPA is an endocrine disruptor – basically a substance that interferes with the production, secretion, transport, action, function and elimination of natural hormones. When BPA imitates our body’s own hormones, it is hazardous for our health, with a laundry list of awful side effects. A recent CDC report found BPA in the urine of 93% of adults!! Yikes!

dsc_7992

Why Glass Food Storage is Best

Glass Keeps Food Safe.

Think about this. Scientists no longer ask if toxic substances migrate from plastic to food during storage (especially during heating). They ask HOW MUCH toxins migrate.
In addition to not leaching chemical nasties into your nom noms, glass is also just all around cleaner than plastic. The non-porous surface of glass doesn’t absorb food and germs and it can be safely washed at high temperatures.

dsc_8082

Glass Preserves Food Flavor.

Ever notice how milk and marinara from your grocer taste better packed in glass? The same is true of home stored food. Food simply tastes fresher, cleaner and fuller stored in glass.
The safe, glossy surface of glass repels food odors and residual flavors. You will not get any foreign scents or tastes in your liquids like you will get from metal, paper or plastic food storage.

dsc_8016

Glass Is Smarter For Our Planet.

Using glass rather than plastic significantly reduces landfill. It also saves energy on plastic’s inefficient recycling process. With care, you’ll use your original glass containers almost indefinitely.
If you break a glass container, you can recycle it without guilt – up to 80% of all recycled glass can be reclaimed, recycled glass uses 40% less energy than manufacturing new glass, and recycling doesn’t compromise glass’ quality or structure and no toxins are produced in it’s recycling.
Glass food storage also reduces food waste – clear milk bottle and dressing containers lets you see exactly what is left, and helps you use up leftovers before they go bad!

dsc_8027

Glass Just Looks Prettier.

Okay, being prettier is the least rational reason to switch from plastic to glass, but gosh darn it, these glass milk bottles are just so stinkin CUTE!
There is just something nostalgic and much more substantial about glass kitchenware. Glass containers retain their crystaline attractiveness forever. Unlike plastic, the non-porous surface of glass doesn’t absorb dyes or colors. And if you like old school retro designs like I do, selecting glass jars and bottles is like injecting your kitchen with your personal brand of culinary flair –  a form of artistic expression in the kitchen.

dsc_7977e

Glass Bottles From Shenandoah Homestead Supply

Shenandoah Homestead Supply got started on the bottle business when they were looking for good bottles to use in bottling kombucha. Owner Josh and his wife were searching for the best products available that measure up their lifestyle standards. This means:
  • All the lids are BPA free and their products are BPA free.
  • All of the glass is made in America.
  • All of the glass is lead and toxin free.
  • Their bottles are made of a thick layer of densely composed glass. As Josh explained to me, without getting into chemistry, this basically means a glass that is tough, but as flexible and possible.
Each heirloom-quality glass container is perfect for homemade nut milks, fermented beverages, juices, milks and much more. The smaller containers are excellent for dressings, marinades and pestos.
Thinking outside the kitchen, these bottles can be used for personal care concoctions, homemade cleaning sprays, detergent, and from promotional items to candies. The nostalgic look is also top notch. I feel absolutely giddy putting my nut milks and freshly pressed juices in these beauties! They store great in the fridge, and look fantastic when serving guests.
[Disclaimer: There are no affiliate links in this review. I am an independent product reviewer. I only review products I am truly interested in. I don’t accept payment for reviews. The products I take the time to jabber on about are either items I have personally purchased, or the product has been provided for review after me initiating contact and incessantly nagging for a sample. All of my reviews are unbiased regardless of how the item was obtained.]

dsc_8037

dsc_8043

This small, 8 oz. glass container with BPA free cap works perfectly for my newest favorite salad topping – Red Miso Honey Dressing and Marinade (recipe to follow!).

Enter for a Chance to Win Glass Bottles from Shenandoah Homestead Supply

Would you like to win an assorted set of Glass Bottles from Shenandoah Homestead Supply? Enter to win below! (You can enter once a day!)

– Entry is open to United States residents that are over the age of 18 years.
– You can enter to win once per day.
– The entry period is from October 13, 2016, 2016 to October 29, 2016.
– Winner will be notified via email and must respond within 48 hours or the prize will be forfeited and a new winner selected.
– Shenandoah Homestead Supply will forward the prize winning goods to the lucky person.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 If you would like to browse the full selection of glass bottles and containers, CLICK HERE or visit www.betterbeveragebottles.com!

Gingi Freeman on FacebookGingi Freeman on InstagramGingi Freeman on PinterestGingi Freeman on Twitter
Gingi Freeman
Gingi Freeman
Gingi is a photographer, cosplayer, amateur chef, crazy cat lady, anime otaku, bookworm, generic geek, world traveler, conservative Christian, homeschooler, devoted military wife and stay at home new mother of two little girls.

Gingi blogs about anything and everything that is relevant to being a supermom, stay at home wife, homeschooler and geek girl! You can contact her at gingifreeman@gmail.com or via the contact form on her website at www.domesticgeekgirl.com

Gingi Freeman

Gingi is a photographer, cosplayer, amateur chef, crazy cat lady, anime otaku, bookworm, generic geek, world traveler, conservative Christian, homeschooler, devoted military wife and stay at home new mother of two little girls. Gingi blogs about anything and everything that is relevant to being a supermom, stay at home wife, homeschooler and geek girl! You can contact her at gingifreeman@gmail.com or via the contact form on her website at www.domesticgeekgirl.com

73 thoughts on “Glass Bottles Are Best – Why Glass is Smarter, Safer and Tastier

  • 13 October, 2016 at 4:59 pm
    Permalink

    Glass is always the healthiest option!

    XoXo,

    Tamara – LoveofMode.com

    • 13 October, 2016 at 5:10 pm
      Permalink

      Yeah, we are slowly converting all of our kitchen items to glass or food safe options! <3

  • 13 October, 2016 at 7:16 pm
    Permalink

    I do use all glass pyrex containers in my kitchen, but I guess the lids are still plastic- yet the stuff usually doesn’t touch the lid. What I’ve been wondering about is plastic water bottles… I usually drink from those, because I don’t like the taste of our tap water. I don’t think they sell water in glass jugs, tho… humph.

    Carrie
    curlycraftymom.com

    • 13 October, 2016 at 9:58 pm
      Permalink

      No, but you can buy BPA free containers – glass, stainless steel, etc. – and store your filtered water there! Thats what we do! <3

    • 13 October, 2016 at 10:01 pm
      Permalink

      Yeah? Where did you see the first one? Sounds like a blog I want to follow! 😉

  • 13 October, 2016 at 9:34 pm
    Permalink

    I too love all my food stored in glass containers, I am glad that I am not the only one that is so “fussy” about it 🙂
    Thanks for this post Gingi…hope you are having a wonderful week 🙂

    • 13 October, 2016 at 10:02 pm
      Permalink

      You too sweetie! Be sure to enter to win! And good luck! <3

  • 13 October, 2016 at 9:42 pm
    Permalink

    Interesting article Gingi. The “plastic devil” will be coming after you. 🙂

    • 13 October, 2016 at 10:02 pm
      Permalink

      Hahahaha… life is no fun unless you make inanimate objects anthropomorphized into sentient beings with evil intent…

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:09 pm
      Permalink

      OMG! I didnt even think of tea!! Super excited to try some sun tea, we still have 80-90 degree days around here, might be able to get some batches in before fall really kicks in!!

  • 14 October, 2016 at 12:50 am
    Permalink

    Glass does look prettier! I’d store juice and tea in the bottles 🙂

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:09 pm
      Permalink

      Waaaaaaaaaaaaay prettier. It will never go out of style!

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:09 pm
      Permalink

      Sure is! Thanks for stopping by Tessy! <3

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:10 pm
      Permalink

      I wish I still had my milking goats, they deserved some pretty glass storage.. their milk was soooo tasty!

  • 14 October, 2016 at 6:37 am
    Permalink

    I could use these for bone broth!

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:10 pm
      Permalink

      Mmmm, you will have to share the recipe with me! I have yet to make a really decent bone broth…

  • 14 October, 2016 at 9:12 am
    Permalink

    I would use the bottles for my homemade tomato sauces!!

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:11 pm
      Permalink

      Ack! My plan was to make TONS of tomato sauces, enough to give out to family as Christmas gifts, but our resident chickens had other plans and decimated the young plants.. haha…

  • 14 October, 2016 at 11:07 am
    Permalink

    I do a mix of both glass and bpa-free.

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:11 pm
      Permalink

      With toddlers, thats what we have to do too.. haha..

  • 14 October, 2016 at 11:32 am
    Permalink

    This is a wonderful giveaway GIngi! If woman in particular realized what BPA did to their fertility, they wouldn’t come within 20 miles of it ever again (and I can personally attest to this!) Even tiny exposure to things like receipts are so harmful for you! Timely post, keep getting the word out BPA is bad bad bad. Awesome giveaway!

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:13 pm
      Permalink

      Yeah, the more I studied BPA, the more freaked out I got! Which is probably why I blog about it ALL. THE. TIME. (You guys getting tired of that yet? haha).. This really is one of the cheapest and easiest ways you can take a huge step toward a healthier kitchen and home!

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:13 pm
      Permalink

      Thanks Lenya! Thanks for stopping by and good luck!!

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:13 pm
      Permalink

      Sure thing Christine, good luck!

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:13 pm
      Permalink

      Crazy, right?!

  • 14 October, 2016 at 2:41 pm
    Permalink

    I would use these for when I make iced tea, salad dressing, and broth, and I would use one in my bedroom as a carafe.

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:14 pm
      Permalink

      Ohhhhhh, I like that last idea!!! <3

  • 14 October, 2016 at 3:11 pm
    Permalink

    I would definitely use these glass bottles to store water, iced, tea, smoothies, and my homemade ranch dressing! 🙂 I love glass bottles as well, I can’t stand that everything is packaged in plastic these days!

    • 14 October, 2016 at 3:15 pm
      Permalink

      Homemade ranch dressing?! You HAVE TO share the recipe!!!!!

  • 14 October, 2016 at 3:58 pm
    Permalink

    I love glass. If I can buy food in glass I’ll get it over canned or plastic. I’ll store anything in glass. Guacamole, dips, casseroles, lasagna, baby food, coffee beans and the list goes on

    • 16 October, 2016 at 5:40 pm
      Permalink

      Same here, glass has every advantage with me in the grocery store! lol

  • 14 October, 2016 at 4:43 pm
    Permalink

    I love glass bottles!I would store my homemade marinade and bbc sauce in them.

  • 14 October, 2016 at 5:01 pm
    Permalink

    Yet another great, informative post, beauty! I slowly started to switch to glass containers over a year ago and now have been using glass for 90% of my storage and whatever plastic I do use, it’s non BPA, which I also look for in canned goods, too. Thanks so much for sharing such an important topic, beauty, and I hope you have a wonderful weekend ahead!

    XO,

    Jalisa
    http://www.thestylecontour.com

    • 16 October, 2016 at 5:41 pm
      Permalink

      So glad you enjoyed my post, I get so excited when I see your comments Jalisa!!! <3 <3

  • 14 October, 2016 at 6:12 pm
    Permalink

    I would store homemade vanilla extract. I would use it for Christmas presents this year.

  • 14 October, 2016 at 8:35 pm
    Permalink

    I would totally make homemade salad dressing and store them in these great glass storage containers

  • 14 October, 2016 at 9:45 pm
    Permalink

    Healthier AND prettier!

    • 16 October, 2016 at 5:41 pm
      Permalink

      Right??!?!?! <3 <3 <3

  • 15 October, 2016 at 12:17 am
    Permalink

    I would put my food in it. I switched to all glass food containers a few years ago

  • 15 October, 2016 at 2:05 am
    Permalink

    I have just started to switch to glass. The classic lines of the bottles you are showing would showcase my homemade ketchup, huckleberry syrup and everything else that I want to store.

  • 15 October, 2016 at 3:02 am
    Permalink

    I try to store all my food in glass only. No smells, no stains, no contamination.
    I’d store my homemade kefir milk in these bottles!

    • 16 October, 2016 at 5:42 pm
      Permalink

      Oooooo, kefir is one drink I have yet to make, but really want to!!!

  • 15 October, 2016 at 3:16 am
    Permalink

    I love to store my iced cofffee in glass…tastes the way it’s supposed to ?

  • 15 October, 2016 at 3:06 pm
    Permalink

    Salad dressing or tea. I would put homemade jam in the small one.

  • 15 October, 2016 at 3:59 pm
    Permalink

    I know glass is best…..

  • 15 October, 2016 at 4:08 pm
    Permalink

    I would use them for when I mix my protein shakes.

    • 16 October, 2016 at 5:42 pm
      Permalink

      Thats what I do with my morning shakes! <3

  • 16 October, 2016 at 4:06 am
    Permalink

    I switched over to glass a long time ago. I also store my dried goods in BPA free canisters. It’s better for you and really does look nicer!

  • 16 October, 2016 at 9:06 pm
    Permalink

    I’d store water and smoothies!

  • 16 October, 2016 at 10:42 pm
    Permalink

    I would keep my juices, and pickled vegetables in these stylish glass bottles.

  • 17 October, 2016 at 3:37 am
    Permalink

    Im a fan of glass. I would store my juices & tea. Whatever leftover I have.Matter of fact everything tht fita.

    • 17 October, 2016 at 2:54 pm
      Permalink

      Hahaha, yeah, it was hard to know what to blog about with these since I wanted to fill them with EVERYTHING! <3

  • 17 October, 2016 at 10:19 am
    Permalink

    I would store my fresh squeezed juice in the jars.

  • 17 October, 2016 at 4:51 pm
    Permalink

    Thanks for the very informative write-up Gingi! I love how you’re educating folks about BPS and it’s evils. We’re really looking forward to shipping the variety pack to one of you lucky folks. While we wish we could ship a variety pack to everyone, we’ve just updated The Dairy Shoppe glass store- betterbeveragebottles.com so that the rest can be winners too.
    Josh

    • 18 October, 2016 at 2:54 pm
      Permalink

      THANK YOU for such a fun giveaway!! Looking forward to seeing who the winner is!!

  • 17 October, 2016 at 7:00 pm
    Permalink

    I would store homemade spaghetti sauce in these!

  • 17 October, 2016 at 7:59 pm
    Permalink

    I am a great fan of glass jars and bottles. Can’t enter the giveaway though as I’m not in the USA!

    • 20 October, 2016 at 9:40 pm
      Permalink

      Of course! Thanks for stopping by and good luck!

  • 20 October, 2016 at 11:56 am
    Permalink

    I would store fresh fruit and vegetable juices in these awesome glass jars.

  • 20 October, 2016 at 2:17 pm
    Permalink

    We’ve transitioned most of our food storage to glass over the past few years; adding a few more bottles to our kitchen would make storing sauces and dressings that much easier.

  • 20 October, 2016 at 4:34 pm
    Permalink

    I would store drinks and perhaps left over soups!

  • 27 October, 2016 at 9:02 pm
    Permalink

    I would store tea & juices in these jars.

  • 28 October, 2016 at 5:09 pm
    Permalink

    I’m thinking that the glass jars may be perfect for certain dry kitchen foods. They would look good too.

  • 28 October, 2016 at 9:36 pm
    Permalink

    I would probably use these adorable bottles to gift out my homemade sauerkraut. So much cuter than a mason jar!

  • 29 October, 2016 at 3:43 am
    Permalink

    I would store homeade salsa, kombucha and goats milk in these glass bottles!

Comments are closed.